TB Teaser Remaster

  • Hi GH-Folks,

    I recently saw on the Amazons the upcoming Tommy Bolin Teaser Remaster Collection (in 2 variants, one as 3CD, the other as 5CD).

    Does anyone know, or can get to know, whether this remastered issue comes from the lost Trident master tapes?

    I can't get hold on information concerning this in the official announcement.

    Cheers, Michi :)

  • TOMMY BOLIN Gets Box-Set Treatment - July 24, 2012

    Rock guitar legend Tommy Bolin will be honored with a box set release of his lauded solo release "The Definitive Teaser" — a three-CD collection featuring a remastered version of his classic album along with two CDs of outtakes and alternates. The project was produced by Greg Hampton and Johnnie Bolin.

    In the annals of rock history, Tommy Bolin occupied a brief, but shining stint as a brilliant guitarist who wowed those in the know with his mastery of many genres — rock, fusion, funk, reggae and heavy metal among others. Along with a much-lauded solo career that pushed the boundaries of rock/jazz fusion, Bolin played with THE JAMES GANG and DEEP PURPLE, setting him up for major solo guitar stardom, which was cut short by his untimely death in 1976.

    Along with the three-CD "Teaser" box set, 429 Records will release a five-CD set, "The Definitive Teaser Collector's Edition" which will also include the two-CD deluxe version of "Great Gypsy Soul" — a collection of Bolin songs recorded by a top-notch roster of players who signed on to pay tribute to Bolin. Produced by Greg Hampton and Warren Haynes, it's a remarkable project that brings together major players who actually perform alongside Tommy Bolin's playing and vocals from the recording outtakes to "Teaser". Peter Frampton, Warren Haynes (a key supporter of the project), Nels Cline, Steve Lukather, Steve Morse, Brad Whitford, Joe Bonamassa, John Scofield, Derek Trucks, Glenn Hughes and Myles Kennedy all contribute to this amazing project. "The Definitive Teaser" and "Collector's Edition" will be released by 429 Records on July 31.

    Tommy Bolin was the quintessential guitar prodigy who focused his talents within the burgeoning rock/metal scenes of the early '70s as well as mastered a highly lauded jazz fusion technique catching the attention of rock tastemakers and guitar legend peers. It was just a matter of time before Bolin was making a name for himself playing on projects as diverse as Billy Cobham's "Spectrum" project (considered one of the great jazz fusion recordings of all time), replacing Joe Walsh in THE JAMES GANG, playing session work on seminal fusion projects by MOXY and Alphonse Mouzon, to replacing Ritchie Blackmore in DEEP PURPLE. With the release of his second solo album "Private Eyes", what should have been a red letter moment for Bolin, opening up for Jeff Beck in Miami, sadly turned tragic as Bolin was found dead of an overdose shortly after the gig.

    Says Warren Haynes: "Many of the guests added after the fact have a close personal connection to Tommy — all share in acknowledging his place in rock history. Watching (and hearing) it all come to fruition some 35 years later was a journey of its own — well worth the travel."

    "The Definitive Teaser" track listing:

    Disc 1

    "Teaser" Remastered

    01. The Grind
    02. Homeward Strut
    03. Dreamer
    04. Savannah Woman
    05. Teaser
    06. People, People
    07. Marching Powder
    08. Wild Dogs
    09. Lotus

    Disc 2

    Alternates and Outtakes

    01. Teaser
    02. Flying Fingers
    03. Cookoo
    04. Wild Dogs
    05. Chameleon

    Disc 3

    01. Crazed Fandango
    02. People, People
    03. Smooth Fandango
    04. Marching Powder
    05. Homeward Strut
    06. Oriental Sky (Lotus)

    Deluxe version of "Great Gypsy Soul" track listing:

    Disc 1

    01. The Grind (w/ Peter Frampton)
    02. Teaser (w/ Warren Haynes)
    03. Dreamer (w/ Myles Kennedy and Nels Cline)
    04. Savannah Woman (w/ John Scofield)
    05. Smooth Fandango (w/ Derek Trucks)
    06. People People (w/ Big Sugar and Gordie Johnson)
    07. Wild Dogs (w/ Brad Whitford)
    08. Homeward Strut (w/ Steve Lukather)
    09. Sugar Shack (w/ Glenn Hughes and Sonny Landreth)
    10. Crazed Fandango (w/ Steve Morse)
    11. Lotus (w/ Joe Bonamassa, Glenn Huges and Nels Cline)

    Disc 2 - Bonus CD

    01. Flying Fingers (w/ Oz Noy and Nels Cline)
    02. Marching Bag - Movement One (w/ Nels Cline, Bolin, Greg Hampton, John Scofield, Sonny Landreth)
    03. Marching Bag - Movement Two (w/ Nels Cline, Bolin, Steve Lukather, Derek Trucks, Peter Frampton)
    04. Marching Bag - Movement Three (w/ Gordie Johnson, Bolin, Nels Cline, Oz Noy, Steve Lukather, Steve Morse, Joe Bonamassa)
    05. Marching Bag - Movement Four (w/ Nels Cline, Bolin, Warren Haynes, Joe Bonamassa, Oz Noy, Brad Whitford, Peter Frampton)

    For more information, visit www.429records.com.

  • I pre-heard the songs in the iTunes Music Store.
    I could detect unheard licks and tunes that only can be featured in the original Trident tapes!!!
    I really think they got them!!!

    We will see mid-September when it arrives, will order it definitely!!!

  • Today my copy arrived. I read in the booklet, that the artwork has been done by Chuck Wright.

    So this is pointing towards the post of the Teaser Remaster in our forum, where he is mentioned to be designing the artwork which was posted some months before.

    So people, it was all true, it was just I couldn't believe it then.

    The question for the recent remasters sources is still unanswered.

    Bye, Michi :)

Join in now!

Don’t have an account yet? Register yourself now and be a part of our Community!